



## **BANKING TERMINOLOGY**

# 1. BASIC OF RBI





#### Director: Kailash Pale

Call: 96739-98501/70459-98144



RBI & ITS FUNCTION	
SUBSIDIARY OF RBI	
PRINTING PRESS OF RBI	
BANK & NBFC	

#### FINANCIAL MARKET REGULATOR

<u>RBI</u>	<u>SEBI</u>	IRDA
<b>BANK &amp; FIs</b>	CAPITAL MARKET INSURA	NCE MARKET

#### **HISTORY OF BANKING SYSTEM**

Bank of Hindustan in 1770, was the first bank in India and further the Banking Phase has divided into 3 Phase.

Phase I: Early phase to Nationalization of Banks in 1969

(Three Presidency banks were set by East India Company- Bank of Calcutta (1806), Bank of Bombay (1840) and the Bank of Madras (1843)

These worked as quasi central banks

Phase II: From Nationalization of India banks in 1969 up to LPG reforms in 1991

Phase III: From LPG & Recommendation of Narsimbham committee Reforms 1991 to TODAY

### **RESERVE BANK OF INDIA**

- Apex institution of country's monetary and financial system
- On the recommendation of "YOUNG & HILTON COMMITTEE" (Royal Commission) RBI established on 1<sup>st</sup> of April 1935 under RBI act 1934 with a capital of 5cr in KOLKATTA.
- Nationalization of RBI was on 1<sup>st</sup> of January 1949.
- RBI also acted as central Bank of BURMA'S & PAKISTAN & Bangladesh.
- Initially **Headquarter** of RBI was in KOLKATTA but further shift to **MUMBAI** in 1937.
- The symbol of RBI is **TIGER** & **PALM** Tree
- HQ- MUMBAI, 19 Regional Offices, 4 Zonal office, However RBi is located in 33 different location across India.
- Administration through center board of Directors consisting of 20 members.
- The Reserve Bank's affairs are governed by a central board of directors. The board is appointed by the Government of India in keeping with the Reserve Bank of India Act.
- Appointed/nominated for a period of four year.
- > Official Directors: Full-time : Governor and not more than four Deputy Governors
- Nominated by Government: ten Directors from various fields and two government Official
- · Others: four Directors one each from four local boards
  - \*1-governer (**Shri Shaktikanta Das**\*) 25<sup>TH</sup> (present)
  - \*4-Dy. Governer.

Dy. Governer: Generally 4

A. T RABI SHANKAR

B. M D PATRA

C. M R RAO

D. J SWAMINATHAN

- 1<sup>st</sup> governor of RBI- SIR. A. O. SMITH (35-37) followed by James Taylor.
- <u>1<sup>ST</sup></u> Indian governor- C. D. DESHMUKH. (43-49)
- Financial YEAR of RBI starts from 1<sup>ST</sup> JULY.
- Only overseas Branch of RBI is in London (England)



Note:- prepare for only

Banking/SSC/Insurance exam for bonafide students of FOCUS COMP ZONE.

